FAVI RioHD-LED-2 Mini Projector Reviews

FAVI RioHD-LED-2 Mini Projector

FAVI RioHD-LED-2 Mini Projector

  • Supports 1080p/1080i/720p resolutions, Native resolution is 640 x 480
  • Weighs less than 3 lbs; fits nicely in laptop case
  • Over 5 times as bright as standard LED projectors; LED lamp lasts an incredible 20,000 hours or 14 years (@ 4 hours a day)
  • Connections: 1 x HDMI, 1 x VGA, 1 x Composite A/V, 1 x Component, 1 x S-Video, 1 x headphone/stereo jack
  • What’s in the box? 1 x Remote Control, 1 x Composite A/V Cable, 1 x Power Adapter and 1 x User Guide

LED projector as featured by PC Magazine. The RioHD-LED-2 by FAVI Entertainment offers the perfect balance in performance and affordability for business professionals, educators, gamers and home theater enthusiasts alike.Its revolutionary LED2 technology provides 20,000 hours or 14 years of lamp life (average of 4 hours per day). while boasting 4 times the brightness of a standard pico projectors. The quick connect VGA and portable design make it ideal for laptop presentations. At less than 3 lb

List Price: $ 199.99

Price: $ 179.99

Sid Meier’s Civilization V Game of the Year – PC

Sid Meier's Civilization V Game of the Year - PC

  • Civilization V introduces hexagon tiles allowing for deeper strategy, more realistic gameplay and stunning organic landscapes for players to explore as they expand their empire
  • Over worth of DLC (downloadable content) and bonus content packs to enhance and extend your gameplay
  • An intuitive interface eases both new players and Civ veterans into the game
  • The addition of ranged bombardment allows players to fire weapons from behind the front lines, challenging players to develop clever new strategies to guarantee victory on the battlefield
  • Choose one of eighteen historical civilizations to lead from the stone-age to the space age on your quest to build the world’s most powerful empire

Civilization V takes the strategy game series in new directions with the introduction of hexagon tiles allowing for deeper strategy, more realistic game play and organic landscapes for you to explore as you expand your empire.

The game features fully animated leaders interacting with you from a screen-filling diplomatic scene and speaking in native language for the first time. Wars between empires feel massive as armies dominate the landscape, and combat is more exciting and intense than

List Price: $ 40.00

Price: $ 10.82


4 Comments

  1. NiQ March 23, 2014 1:19 am 

    526 of 537 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    for the price its woth it.., February 10, 2010
    By 
    NiQ

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: FAVI RioHD-LED-2 Mini Projector (Electronics)
    This is the first projector I bought so I can’t compare it with the other Projectors in the market.

    I love it. For the price its worth it.

    Before I bought this I did a little research and this is what I found out and my primary concerns.
    I compared it with newsky-health led-2 and alanson led-2 and a bunch of projectors with the same input and shape. Are they all the same just with different names? all are made from china..
    The brand PMC has the same shape but different inputs and usb so its not the same..

    It has 1300 lumens brightness and to US standards 400 ansi only..

    -> What is its life span?
    Favi website and other website says 20,000 hours of life span while some and amazon say its 30,000..
    Who cares five years from now this will be obsolete and its life is good for more than 10 years if you use it 5-6 hours a day..
    With all the different information out there I really don’t know what is the real specs of this thing..

    -> Is it bright enough?
    It is good enough to watch with the lights or windows open if you are projecting it around 3ft(25″screen) ft to around 5ft(42″screen) away from the wall. The reason I started with 3ft is because that is the nearest distance you can watch from it. This is because the projectors manual focus limit is only up to there anything nearer than that will be blurry. Yes this projector’s focus is manual, by turning the lens to the right for near distance, to the left for far distance. Farther than that I think a dim light is required. The more distance the bigger the screen it projects the darker the room should be. Of course the darker the room the better.

    -> Does it heat up?
    Nope it remains cool. The built in fan is good enough to do this.

    -> How loud is the noise fan?
    Hmm I would say it makes the same noise as a desktop pc fan would or any 7 inch normal fan would make..

    -> Image display?
    More than satisfactory. I would say great..
    I have only tried it using hdmi connecting it to my laptop and watching movies using kmplayer w/ 720p and it works great and also tried playing psp 480p using a component cable works great also.
    With a dark room I have tried watchin with 120″ screen more than 12ft away and no complaints w/ the image quality.
    I dont advice it to be use for your laptops though for browsing or typing. In order for you to atleast read the characters clearly the resolution should only be 800 by 600(standard resolution nowadays is 1200×800)which really is annoying because you have to adjust you computer screen resolution and see a lot less on your screen.
    Also the 16:9 option is not applicable using the hdmi/component.
    keystone works great also for adjusting the angle image found at the bottom I didnt even know what a keystone was haha..
    There is also a TV input with lots of channels in this projector. I haven’t tried it though don’t have an antenna cant put a cable, it needs an adaptor. I find it weird that It has a tv input when it doesnt say it has one.. I have the white one I think the black one doesnt have any..

    -> Built in stereo sound?
    umm next question.. Let’s skip this..
    yeah it has stereo sounds but my laptops built in speaker sounds better.. I use my altec lansing expressionist instead and viola good quality sound..
    You are not buying this for the sound quality so c’est pas grave..

    What I don’t like about this projector is that inorder for you to access the menu and choose which output to choose hdmi/component/tv/video/etc you need the remote control so if you lose it then this projector is useless..

    Overall I’d say I gambled on buying this product since there is no reviews out there yet on this and so far I am happy about this purchase.. :)
    Hope this review is useful to you guys..

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Pawn Pace March 23, 2014 1:29 am 

    185 of 190 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    Budget product for lot of connectivity but low resolution!, June 22, 2010
    By 
    Pawn Pace (LA) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: FAVI RioHD-LED-2 Mini Projector (Electronics)
    Beware that this is a Budget projector with lot of connectivity including HDMI and has ok speakers!

    I bought it for my parents outside US and they needed a big screen to watch movies. The reasons for picking this model are
    1. COST (single most important factor … compromised on the resolution)
    2. LED lamp
    3. Voltage regulations (220-240V).

    As compared to non LED lamps, there is no issue of changing the lamp for this model. The manufacturer states 20,000 hrs of lamp life.

    Tested the following inputs: VGA with laptop, A/V with DVD player, HDMI with upconverting DVD as well as xbox 360.

    Pros:
    - Budget
    - LED lamp
    - Built in speakers works through HDMI port and have decent sound
    - Power brick indicates 110~240V input

    Cons:
    - Please bear in mind that the native resolution is 640X480 …. downgrades resolution from laptop, or any input device connected. If you are looking for a higher quality image then this is NOT the product!!
    - Requires some dark room … just depends on how the light source (background or external) is located and the intensity
    - Power brick looks and feels a little cheap
    - All functions works through the remote (if you loose the remote then you are doomed! therefore -2 stars)
    - Product quality (i.e. the construction material, plastic materials etc) feel very cheap (You get what you pay for :( )
    - The cooling fan produces noise (same level of noise as some of the bright lamp projectors). Don’t expect this product to be quiet!

    Other thoughts:
    - Purchased at $250. Our target is that this projector lasts for watching at least 100 movies (~ $2.5 projector cost per movie). Already watched 10 movies so far and clocked around 10 hrs of Xbox gameplay.
    - If you can afford to spend a little bit more … then try to go for at least 1024×768 NATIVE resolution in projectors!
    - I will not recommend any projectors below 640×480 resolution even for those who have very stringent budget!

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. Deedly March 23, 2014 2:16 am 

    68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Overall a pretty good game., December 24, 2011
    By 
    Deedly

    What there is to like:
    -Combat is much more interesting than previous Civilization games, and it has completely alleviated the problem from previous games where you would simply build a massive stack of one unit and click on the enemy units until they died.
    -Units have much more clear and differentiated roles. The ranged unit updates bring the game in line with the traditional role of cavalry, infantry, and missile weapons in warfare.
    -Civilizations are very different and can create a whole different game on different plays, especially if you prefer epic length so that you can get a proper war in each era.
    -Landscapes and borders look more natural.
    -The City-State system keeps you active in the early game, even when playing a cultural or scientific strategy.

    What I do not like:
    -I can see the reasoning behind separating the science from income with the increased importance of gold, but the change makes a focus on science less integrated into your top level strategy and more incidental. I don’t feel like you have as many non-wonder options to excel at science.
    -Overall the AI is pretty terrible at combat and only succeeds at higher difficulties because of numerical advantages built into the system.
    -Balance between the civilizations is terrible across the board.
    -Diplomacy with other civilizations is meaningless, they will betray you for no reason whatsoever if it looks like you might obtain a victory condition.
    -Lag tends to bog down multiplayer games on maps larger than standard at the end.

    Overall I think they’re onto something, and I hope that they can polish the game out the same way Civilization 4 was polished out by its expansions.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. NeuroSplicer March 23, 2014 2:29 am 

    87 of 107 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    BRUTALLY UNCIVILIZED, January 8, 2013
    By 
    NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) –
    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)
      

    = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
    This review is from: Sid Meier’s Civilization V Game of the Year – PC (DVD-ROM)

    The working relationship between a game designer and his publisher is never a simple one. So I would not know where exactly to place the blame, Sid Meyer or 2K GAMES. But in the end, it does not matter. Because it is simply sad to see a great gaming franchise came to this.

    THIS IS NOT A CIVILIZATION GAME
    A great number of major features of this beloved series have been simply removed. A fellow gamer called this Civilization V, “Civilization For Dummies” and he is absolutely right.
    There is no trading maps or technologies. There is no claiming resources outside your borders by building a colony. There is no need for transport ships as, apparently, units are now all..amphibious (and they need 15-20 turns to cross an ocean!). There are no city-growth milestone requirements (granary, aqueduct, refrigeration). There is no culturally conquering an enemy city (detonating a “culture bomb” by consuming a Great Artist will only get you extra territory tiles but no cities). There are no spies nor health/pollution balance. And there are no armies (please read on).

    ARMY CASTRATION
    Someone please tell me what was so wrong with armies that had to be yanked out? Napoleon almost conquered Europe with one army. Germany almost conquered the eastern hemisphere with three and the US still holds a two-and-a-half armies doctrine. How can a turn-based game be called Civilization unless one can emulate, well, a real civilization? Building an army, seasoning it on minor conflicts and then going for the enemy’s capital was one of the most fun parts of any Civilization game. Why, Sid?

    YOU MAY BE ABLE TO LAUNCH INTO SPACE YET CANNOT CLIMB MOUNTAINS?!
    Movement should be hindered by rough terrain. Units that have 3 or 4 moves on the plains should not be expected to do more than 1 or 2 on a mountain, right? Well, no. Mountains seem to be those magical places no unit can climb or pass through (not even …helicopters of jet fighters!). And I cannot see how this makes for more complicated strategic decisions than timing your movements, claiming the high ground and having a bonus for elevated artillery?

    UNIT STAMPEDE
    A major issue for me, this was what really ruined the game. For some unfathomable reason units cannot be stacked. A worker can coexist with a military unit but that’s it. Artillery and shock-cavalry are very vulnerable to attacks and (with the new hexagon layout) one would need …six defensive units to protect a single artillery battery.
    As a result, units keep getting on each other’s way (especially when ordered to move for distances that require more than a turn), they refuse to even pass through friendly units (!) and the “tactical” considerations that result from this are trivial. And whenever besieging an enemy city, one has to endlessly maneuver his units around it (while exposed to its bombardment) whereas wounded units are never easy to withdraw.
    You cannot even garrison more than a single unit within a city. Not that it would make a difference, since the garrisoned unit is not automatically awaken to fight back when the city is under attack(!), the city is left to defend itself.

    CAN YOU REALLY COMMAND WITHOUT A…CENTRAL COMMAND?
    The economy is nose-diving into the red and you want to reduce the percentage going into research for a while to avoid having units of yours deleted one by one? The fickle people of your civilization are unhappy and you want to placate them by increasing their entertainment allocation? You have discovered conscription and you want to upgrade all your musketeers into recruits? Well, tough luck! There is not central command screen to do so. Only advisers that you have to thank for annoying you.
    You have very little control of your cities resource distribution and zero control of your national economy. And units have to be hunted down and upgraded one by one.
    Speaking of the economy, when are we going to see a Civilization game where one can run and manage a national debt?

    NO FREE EYE-CANDY IN THIS UNIVERSE. NOT EVEN A STALE ONE.
    The game does look new and polished and the units are well designed but not cutting edge and not without a steep hardware price. If you expect anything comparable to STARCRAFT II crispiness you will be disappointed – at my 1280×1024 resolution it is not easy to discern roads from railroads.
    The system I am running my copy consists of a P7 920 on a MSI Eclipse with 3GB of RAM and an ASUS nVIDIA GTX-260. Even with a couple years old PC in a WinXP environment (I refuse to forgo my game collection for the latest Windows OS), apparently I cannot even try the highest DX9 settings (the game crashes at launch) but I managed to optimize them with a mix of high and medium. Even then, whenever I scroll to a different location of the map, I can see the image fleshing out, just like zooming in a Google-Earth map.
    So one can only wonder: why should one…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Comments are closed.